skip navigation

Tim Ryan College Scholarship

In spring 2008 Herndon Youth Soccer began awarding $1,000 college scholarships annually to high school seniors who have participated in the club as a player, referee, coach and/or volunteer. The scholarships will be awarded based on the applicant’s involvement in the club over the years, their application and an essay. Recipients will be announced in May/June with monetary distribution made directly to the college or other post-secondary institution upon proven acceptance.
Recipients can be attending any High School but must be a graduating senior. Please see the application on the next page and remember to enclose a copy of your High School transcripts.

Tim Ryan was a long time HYS coach and volunteer who died in 2007 after a long and valiant battle with cancer. He coached for his children’s soccer teams from microkicks to all-stars to travel, along the way founding some very successful travel teams. Tim fought the battle with cancer the same way he did everything else, with optimism, strength and faith. Tim exemplified the spirit of good sportsmanship and volunteerism that is prized by every sports organization and we are honored to award these scholarships in his name.


Seanna Adam who graduates from Herndon HS and will attend UVA. After playing house league, Seanna played with Herndon Pegasus for its entire lifespan, U9-U19 as well as the HHS Varsity. She was an assistant coach for a U11g team in fall of 2015 and then this past fall head coached a U9/10b team.

Kaylan Schoenefeldt also graduates from Herndon HS and will attend Virginia Tech. She played house and SFL soccer and then travel with the Herndon Phoenix and for HHS Varsity but stopped playing in her sophomore year. She missed it and soon began coaching, starting with a season head coaching a U9/10 girls team. This year she has been assistant coach on a U14g team.

Past Winners

Year Name(s)
2017 Seanna Adam Kaylan Schoenefeldt
2016 Nicholas Geyer Sammy Zemni
2015 Collin Peterson Josue Mendez
2014 Ryan Lesane Casey Martin
2013 Tyler Hutchins Selim Zemni
2012 Rachel Durrwater Victor Jovel